The Local Governing Body

Mrs Anita Fell (Chair of Governors and Safeguarding Lead)

Mrs Sarah Bell (Vice Chair of Governors)

Mr Chris Metcalfe (Principal)

Mrs Bev Morton - Non Teaching Staff Governor

Mr Nick Marklew - Governor (Co-Opted)

Mrs Maggie Blount - Governor (Co-Opted)

Mrs Janet Foster - Governor (Co-Opted)

Mr John Cusworth - Governor (Co-Opted)

Important to note - Mrs Anita Fell term of chair is for two years and the above relates to her overall term as a governor of four years.

Please click on the links below to access the following documents:

Governor Responsibilities

Governor Declaration of Business Interests

Register of Attendance for Local Governing Body members 2020 - 2021

Register of Attendance for Local Governing Body members 2019 - 2020 

Register of Attendance for Local Governing Body members 2018 - 2019 

Governance Handbook


What do governors do?


Governors have several key roles:

  • to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • to hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • to oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent. 

They also carry out a number of other important duties, which include:

  • determining how the school's budget is spent;
  • the appointing and dismissing of staff;
  • hearing appeals and grievances;
  • forming policy on the school's curriculum and collective worship;
  • setting standards for pupils' behaviour and discipline;
  • making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe;
  • setting and monitoring the school's aims and policies.